For Good

Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? But because I knew you, I have been changed for good.

Two nights ago, I got to see the amazing musical, Wicked. And let me tell you, it was absolutely fantastic. I wanted to cry tears of happiness it was so good. And as I was watching it, I realized just how many beautiful, thought provoking messages are in this beautiful story. Right now, I just want to focus on one.

The quote at the beginning is from the song, “For Good” which is a beautiful duet between Glinda and Elphaba. They each played a very special role in each other’s lives, even though at the beginning it seemed they were too different to understand each other. As I listened to this song, thoughts of people streamed through my head – people who have changed me. For the better? For the most part I’d like to think so. For good? Absolutely. However, I also like to think that every single person you ever encounter in life changes you in some way. Even that random person standing behind you in line at the store. Humans are quite observant creatures in my opinion and we notice a lot. When people say, “it’s the little things that matter,” it’s the truth. The simple gestures of smiling at someone or holding the door open for another person could turn that entire person’s day around.

Now, just thinking about the recent people who have come into my life and changed it, basically everyone who I’ve met at college has changed me for the better and for good. And let me tell you, I love being home and being on break, but I miss my second-home and second-family from college.

So, who have you met that’s changed you for good?

Leave a comment